top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesapphirexblues

[Book review] To all the boy's I've loved before by Jenny Han

Updated: May 13, 2019




Title: To all the boys I've loved before

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Publication date: 15/4/2014

Pages: 368

Price: (paperback from Amazon) SGD$8.48










 


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is now a major motion picture streaming on Netflix!

Lara Jean’s love life gets complicated in this New York Times bestselling “lovely, lighthearted romance” (School Library Journal) from the bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.


 

So stereotypical its actually pretty good...


"Oof now your crushes/ ex-crushes found out about your crushes!!" was literally the first thing i thought when i read the summary of this book...


Didn't think i would have enjoyed it, turns out i kinda did enjoy it XD


“Margot would say she belongs to herself. Kitty would say she belongs to no one. And I guess I would say I belong to my sisters and my dad, but that won’t always be true.”

I love the relationship between the song sisters (even though i don't like Margot), i relate so much to the fact that you can love your siblings to death and would sacrifice so much for them, and you can also be want to strangle them and sent them to the hospital!


The 3 of them make such a great team and are unique and helpful in their own ways, like Kitty brings joy and laughter to the family, Margot is the leader and the inspiration, Lara Jean is kind and introverted.


Let's talk about the boys!


Don't have much to say about Josh, my thoughts on him are just... "Meh", he's okay i guess didn't make a huge impact on me.


Peter is so sweet and adorable i wanna hug him! He can be a jerk sometimes, but he is awesome. I need a Peter Kavinsky in my life~~


“Love is scary: it changes; it can go away. That's the part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore.”

The romance...


Was kinda weird at first, like he loves you but you didn't know that so just in case he doesn't love you you get together with someone else blah blah...


Then i guess it progressed and it came out pretty interesting


YEA I SHIP PETER AND LARA JEAN, FIGHT ME!!


Character development is also pretty good, overall this book is just captivating from the moment you open it and i feel it really represents what it feels like to be a teenager these days.


“Life doesn't have to be so planned. Just roll with it and let it happen.”

I recommend reading it for those who just want some teenage romance life issues XD


 

[DISCLAIMER: review is based on my opinion, you have yours and i have mine ^-^]


Sorry if this was a bad review, i just started writing reviews so please leave some constructive comments below to help me improve, thank you and see you in the next post!!


💙sapphirexblues💙


 
2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page