top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesapphirexblues

[Book review] The Lux series: Obisidian // Oblivion by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: May 13, 2019


credits to the artist / editor

credits to the artist

Title: Obisidian / Oblivian

Author: Jennifer L Armentrout

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC // Entagled: Teen

Publication date: 05/08/2012 , 01/12/2015

Pages: 400 // 352

Price: (paperback from Amazon) SGD$8.50 // SGD$9.99


 

credits to the artist

Obsidian


Starting over sucks


When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned my-self to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring... until I spotted my hot neighbour, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.


And then he opened his mouth


Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, sometimes... unexpected happens.


The hot alien living next door marks me.


You heard me. Aliens. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.


If i don't kill him first, that is.


Oblivion


Experience the epic love story of Obsidian as told by its hero, Daemon Black...


I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.


And trouble's the last thing i need, since I'm not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there's one thing i know, it's that humans can't be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. 'Cuz they are.


But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and i can't stop myself from wanting her- or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I'm the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl... she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy- the Arum, and i need to stay on my game.


Falling for Katy- a human- won't just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that's one thing I'll never let happen...


 

Supernatural and romance with a dash of action here and there? SIGN ME THE HELL UP!!


Yeah i fell in love with the series the moment i read finished the first half of the first book, i just can't help but stay up to 4am on a school day just reading and re-reading the series. Obsidian and Oblivion might not be my favourite book but it definitely is a pretty good book.


It's about a love story between an alien and a human, at first i found it typical, you know just another aliens hating humans kinda book. But i continued reading just to see how it turned out and i don't regret it, the love between both Katy and Daemon started out small, lit by irritation they had towards the other. That love soon grew into something so much bigger and better.


They both want to stay away from each other and yet they crave the other. Daemon wants to stay away from Katy so as to keep his identity and his community safe, especially after the mishap with his brother, he doesn't want to endanger Katy either.


Katy finds herself attracted to Daemon more and more everyday, she struggles to ignore that feeling and just wants to live a normal life like any other person in her school.


Every time they were seperated from each other, i would turn the next page hoping that they meet up somewhere or something awesome happens.


“I've always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect." His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. "The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It's just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.”

Daemon ain't the kind to say something sweet and romantic but he expresses his love for Katy in many other ways that i'm sure all you book lovers out there would enjoy :D, the romance scenes just keep getting better and better uwu


Daemon is also very protective of his family! At the start of the book we see that Daemon is overprotective of Dee because of what happened to his brother, it just makes me think if i would protect my sister at all costs hmm, yea i would protect her XD


“Why are you such an ass?" The words came out before I could think twice. "Everyone has to excel at something, right?" "Well, you're doing a great job.”

Katy... Katy is just strong and badass and awesome on so many levels! She is determined and considerate, unless threatened, she is also loyal as seen in the final fight scene and would put her life at risk even if she knew she had a very small chance of survival. Katy really is one of the best heroines I've read about...


Overall, this book is great, its awesome, IT DESERVES A MOVIE and i can't wait to re-read it soon...


 

[DISCLAIMER: review is based on my opinion, you have yours and i have mine ^-^]


Sorry if this was a bad review, i just started writing reviews so please leave some constructive comments below to help me improve, thank you and see you in the next post!!



💙sapphirexblues💙


 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page