top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesapphirexblues

[Book review] Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott



Title: Five Feet Apart

Author: Rachael Lippincott

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Publication date: November 20, 2018

Pages: 288

Price: (paperback from Amazon) SGD$11.05



 

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

 

Let's just say i was expecting to cry a river of tears but i cried a cup worth of tears


I was captivated by Five Feet Apart's trailer, the trailer song just fit perfectly with the video and it looked awesome. I didn't watch the movie but damm Will is just hot...


Anyways back to the book, i have always been interested in the medical field, you know working in the hospital and helping people who are in need of help. So i really thought i would enjoy this book.


"God, you're beautiful. And brave." I say. 'It's a crime I can't touch you."

I liked the romance, it was sweet, Will and Stella really do care for each other. And that's the thing. I wanted more of the romance more cute couple time and more moments i can cherish with the characters.


“If I'm going to die, I'd like to actually live first.”

My favourite character would be Will. I find myself relating more to Stella, i am the kind of person to plan out my life and not much of a risk taker. I like Will more because i want to have the carefree kind of attitude, also he's hot ;)


Overall, i really did like this story. Even though it didn't make me cry as much as i hoped it would have, the story plot was interesting and the romance was good, i just wished there was more of it.


 

[DISCLAIMER: review is based on my opinion, you have yours and i have mine ^-^]


Sorry if this was a bad review, i just started writing reviews so please leave some constructive comments below to help me improve, thank you and see you in the next post!!


💙sapphirexblues💙

 
19 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page